Professional Growth Plan Final Reflection

As the end of the year draws near, it is time for me to reflect upon my personal Professional Growth Plan goal.

My admin has asked for me to please comment on the following:

  1. How did you do with the goals you set for yourself at the start of this year and/or what unexpected learning happened for you?
  2. What questions do you still have about this?
  3. In thinking ahead to next year – what might you do to continue to push your learning in this area?

Personal Goal
Goal: To become a reflective practitioner in order to demonstrate personal and promote student growth.
TQS Reference:  Teacher’s ongoing analysis of the context, and the teacher’s decisions about which pedagogical knowledge and abilities to apply result in optimum learning by students.

1.  At the beginning of this year, It was an overwhelming experience to meet a new team who was getting to know each other and for half of us getting to know the school at the same time. As a teacher new to the profession, this was a moment for me to really stop and think about what I needed for success this year. In setting the goal for myself to become a more reflective practitioner, I did not realize how important things like blogging would become for me. Weekly class blog posts and personal blog posts became a way for me to look back and plan for my class and professionally. I started participating in weekly Twitter chats and a book club via Voxer and Twitter. It was an amazing way for me to receive immediate feedback from peers across the globe. I started to connect with more people and built my self-confidence to take the risks my students needed me to take for our classroom and their learning. I started to reach out to my grade level team and share my ideas. I also started to seek feedback from my teaching teams – LC 5 and French. I became confident and aware of myself as a teacher and as I pushed myself, I also pushed my students to grow as learners. I see such a difference in their ability to reflect and self-assess.

As I became more comfortable with my team and my teaching, the students started to show their own confidence in their learning by pushing themselves to deeper levels in their thinking and appreciating the opportunity to collaborate. Most importantly for me as an educator, I now have my own reflections to look back upon and share and I have shown my students the importance on reflecting as well. Together we tried new things and when they didn’t work, we stopped and looked back at how we could fix them or how we could move forward from them. As one of my students said recently during a project “just because it didn’t work out the way we planned, we still learned from it and if we were to redo it, we could fix it or we can remember what we learned for the next project”.

2. My biggest question is how can I take the culture of feedback and collaboration I have built-in my class and bring it with me into my teaching and working with my colleagues? I would like to find a way to build in opportunities for professional feedback from other teachers on different grade level teams. Feedback is such an important part of who I am as a professional. While I appreciate the feedback I receive from my PLN outside of the school/district, the value of receiving feedback from someone who understands the school context is priceless to me.

3. I’d like to find ways to collaborate more with different grades and different schools, which is something I have started to look into lately. I’d also like to strive to share best practices with more people by finding times to connect with other teachers from different grades or schools.

Leave a Reply

