Divisional PD Day – Reflection

Today we had a divisional PD day with the 6 schools in our division. It was great to see all the projects teachers are taking on to engage students. What stood out to me today was the engagement that teachers had in sharing and the curiosity people had about student learning.

One of the things I remind myself is that many of the teachers are still new to inquiry, PBL and reflection.  To me, reflection should be on going through out the process and not at the end as then it becomes more about the product. Still, we are moving forward and wanting to engage our students while pushing them to deeper levels of thinking, which is the most important part.

We also had a chance to look at the district’s vision for 2020. There is a lot of work that has gone into it and it can be an intimidating document if you are not willing to make yourself vulnerable in the process. This document was exciting for me because a lot of it is what I believe about education and the rest are mostly things I have yet to consider in my direct involvement in the classroom. One thing for sure, is that I would like make myself more involved in helping teachers become comfortable and give them some of the guidance they seek when looking at the educational shifts that are happening globally – even if projects like high school redesign or curriculum redesign in Alberta are changed or put on hold.

I decided today to try taking my sketching digital so I could implement them into my blog. We’ll see how it goes but at least now I can share.

div. pd day sept 18, 2015

Leave a Reply

