Yes we have fun, but we work hard while we’re at it.

 

Today I was walking through the hall at recess and overhead one of the students saying they wanted to be in my class next year because I have cool furniture and we keep the lights off the majority of the day. The reaction my students had to this comment was pretty awesome.

“Miss A’s class is hard. It looks fun and comfortable on the outside but when you’re in it, she challenges you. We work hard. The couch is pretty cool though.”

That’s what I strive for my class to be – a challenge. It shouldn’t be hard to do, but I expect that my students work hard at their own level. Each activity is carefully designed for students to do at their own level. A student needs to make the choice if they don’t want to succeed in my class because they have the freedom to push themselves beyond where they think they can if they take the chance. The work isn’t the hard part, it’s the acceptance that you can always keep improving that is the hard part. Once they accept that, the results will show they are capable of much more that what most people expect of a 10 year old.

Leave a Reply

